Revising and Editing

So after looking at all of your notes for revision today, I realize I have a lot of work to do! I wish I’d used class time more wisely. But I was definitely glad to give you guys time today to work on final drafts! I enjoyed seeing you guys explore this exciting topic almost as much as I enjoyed reading about you in your essays.

I just wanted to share with you that I realized an important step I forgot to mention in the revision and editing process: time! Sometimes, taking a little break from looking at your writing can give you new ideas. Just now, I stepped outside to barbeque and drink a glass of tea before returning to my essay. It’s not a bad idea to have a snack, do something else, and come back to your essay with a fresh mind. Remember that “revision” means “to see again”…try seeing your essay again with new eyes!

Don’t forget that tomorrow I will accept electronic copies via email up until the time that school starts, and hard copies at the beginning of your class. See you tomorrow 😀

Leave a Reply

